Medical Specialist and AMC Recognition: A Background

in Medical

As the healthcare industry continues to grow, so is the number of medical fields and practices. However, since the number of newly found medical specializations continues to increase, an act to recognize only those who follow the policies and guidelines of the Commonwealth Minister for Health and Ageing was established.

In 2002, the Australian Medical Council (AMC) took over the responsibility of overseeing the process of recognizing the different medical specialties in the country. The council researches and advises the Minister on which disciplines must be officially recognized by the commission, and in turn the Minister will make the final decision as to certify the practice or not.

A two-stage process is followed to fulfil this duty. According to the AMC website, following the criteria and standards of the board, the process is as follows:

  • Step 1:The Australian Medical Council’s Recognition of Medical Specialties Advisory Committee will oversee the applications for recognition. All files submitted will be assessed against specific criteria and standards established by the commission.
  • Step 2:AMC’s Specialist Education Accreditation Committee will oversee the assessment of the standards of the specialist education, training programs and continuing professional development programs available to the medical specialty being studied.

In a matter of five years—from 2002 to 2007—the Australian Medical Council was able to support the recognition of six different medical specialty applications.

Why is the AMC recognition important?

To serve as a medical specialist in Australia, you must have completed a supervised training program of your chosen medical specialty. You must also receive a Fellowship from a specialty medical college that is accredited and recognized by the Australian Medical Council.

With this, you may only be called a certified specialist in Australia if you become a fellow at an AMC accredited college. According to a 2006 statistic, there were 64,425 registered medical practitioners that year; however, only 35% of these people were specialists.

Examples of Recognized Medical Specialties in Australia

A medical specialist in the following fields have been recognized and accredited by the AMC:

Anaesthetics. Anaesthetics is an acute medical specialty that requires a deep of both applied physiology and pharmacology, while working with practical methods. Being an intra-operative form of medical care, the specialty is keen on details, including the close observation of the patients.

  • Organization – Australianand New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
  • Qualification – Fellowshipof the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (FANZCA)

Intensive Care Medicine. Also known as critical-care medicine, intensive care medicine, medical specialists in this field diagnose and treat life threatening illnesses and conditions. Services rendered to patients may include organ support or invasive monitoring.

  • Organization – Collegeof Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand
  • Qualification – Fellowshipof the College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand (FCICM)

Sport and Exercise Medicine. An important façade of the medical field, Sport and Exercise Medicine deals with the physical fitness of a person. The practice especially works for athletes as it helps treat and prevent injuries related to physical activities—sports and exercises.

  • Organization – AustralasianCollege of Sports Physicians
  • Qualification – Fellowshipof the Australasian College of Sports Physicians (FACSP)
Author Box
Ethan Ryan has 16 articles online

Check out the Medepage (Global healthcare community site) for Medical Specialists Jobs ,information and meet Medical Specialists professional from across the globe.

Add New Comment

Medical Specialist and AMC Recognition: A Background

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
Related searches:

Medical Specialist and AMC Recognition: A Background

This article was published on 2013/05/10